That Girl Should Be Me

That Girl Should Be Me

I saw you one day in an empty cafe. 

Sitting quietly and sipping your coffee, 

I’m sorry I couldn’t help but stare. 

You are waiting for someone, I guess.

A girl perhaps, or else, you wouldn’t be looking your best. 

A few minutes passed, and then the door swung open.

Revealing a tall and fair lady, like a butterfly in the garden.

You pulled out her chair and help her in. 

Oh my! Your face is so happy with that large and bright grin. 

You laugh and talk and smile, all at the same time.

Forgive me again, I really think poems need to rhyme. 

I can tell that it’s love, there’s enough reason for me to see.

But selfishly I find myself thinking

That girl should be me. 

(c) Karen Clide E. Montegrande, 2014 

Leave a Reply

