ABCs

“To learn to read is to light a fire; every syllable that is spelled out is a spark.”- Victor Hugo
I can remember the time when my parents told me that at the age of three, I already mastered my alphabet and I was starting to read. Reading has become a very important part of my life for I have grown up to be a reader. I find reading very entertaining even from grocery lists up to really, really long novels. Because of this, I would like to share a recent experience I had.
One Thursday morning, as I was waiting for someone on a waiting shade I saw this man approaching a young gentleman near me. The man was a little skinny, quite short, bald and he looks like he’s on his middle forties. What happened next broke my little thumping heart. Here’s a photo of him I secretly took by the way.

image

He approached the young man beside me and said, “Puwede mo ba akong ipara ng jeep San Pablo. Hindi kasi ako marunong magbasa. Pasensya na ha, hindi lang talaga ako marunong bumasa.”
That moment I can’t help but feel sorry for him. That was my very first encounter with someone who is illiterate.  And I don’t know if this is nonsense for you but it’s a big deal for me. I wanted to ask the man why he never learned how to read? Why did he gave up so easily and didn’t even try? I can’t help but stare at the man for a while and to my shock he suddenly asked me for the time. I tried to hide all that’s been boiling inside me and I answered him politely with a smile.
I felt the sudden urge to help people learn how to read. I mean reading is an important tool for survival. It gives you joy and knowledge that you will always have for the rest of your life. I don’t want to sound noble or anything but I would like everyone to know this important matter.
More and more people have been stolen the opportunity to learn how to read. Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone knows how to read books like the bible, if everyone knows how to read and write the name of their loved ones, if everyone can read and spell their name out loud for the rest of the world to hear, and most importantly if everyone can know and teach the next generation the name of our God because they can read?
Learn, read, teach. :>

Leave a Reply

